TrondOlavGlimsdal@NorronaHvitserk (13)

Trond Olav Glimsdal

Trond Olav started full-time as a guide and project manager for technical tours with us in January 2023. He is a certified mountain guide, and has worked full-time with skiing and climbing since 2015, and has, among other things, worked with ski tours for Norrøna Hvitserk in the past.

As an internationally certified mountain guide through NORTIND/UIAGM, Trond Olav may guide and instruct skiing, climbing and glacier tours all over the world. He is also an NF (Norwegian Mountain Sport Assisiation) avalanche and climbing instructor, as well as mountain guide level 2, and has experience from NARG (Norwegian Alpine Rescue Groups). Trond Olav also has managed to build up many years of experience with climbing and skiing in various mountains from the south to north, both on his free time and through work. He also climbed a number of high mountains, such as Kilimanjaro, Elbrus, Gokyo Ri, Island Peak and Aconcagua. Employed in Norrøna Hvitserk in January 2023, but was former active as a ski guide for the company.

Although he grew up in Hamar on the east side of the country, Trond Olav has always been drawn to the mountains, and Jotunheimen was for a long time his closest and dearest area. After living in the north of Norway - Tromsø - for 7 years, he has also become well known in this area. Here he worked as a ski and climbing guide in the mountains. But Trond Olav is not only fond of steep mountains, in his spare time hunting and cross-country skiing are also among his favorite activities. As if that is not enough, he worked in a sports shop for several years, and has an excellent knowledge of equipment. Trond Olav is in charge of our technical tours, and guides - among other things - climbing and ski touring. A calm and steady guy to trust!

Where did you grow up?

What do you call home these days?
Lillehammer, although I feel at home up north after seven years in Tromsø.

Especially ski touring and rock/mountain climbing, but also cross-country skiing and hunting. Trying to hang out with junior in the skate park, but I'm not sure if it's more embarrassing for me or those watching;-)

When did you join the Norrøna Hvitserk family?
Have been enrolled previously, but permanently employed from January 2023.

Which Norrøna product is your current favourite?
Tamok Gore-tex Pro Bib

What do you always carry in your backpack?
A bivy bag.

What do you actively do in everyday life to cut down on your CO2 footprint?
Taking the train whenever I can.

<p>Foto: Pål Arnkværn</p>

What is your favourite place in the world?
I've been lucky enough to travel a lot, but I probably enjoy Norway the most - as long as it's not just mountains and snow, but also some barefoot days in the lowlands.

What advice would you give to a 10-year-old version of yourself?
Follow your dream and don't be afraid to choose the wrong direction.

What hobbies do you like to participate in/spend time on outside of outdoor activities?
Books and Lego.

What is your hidden talent?

If you could choose one superpower, what would it be and why?
Being able to sleep whenever and wherever I wanted. I would like to be a bit better at resting when the opportunity arises. Maybe not a superpower, but I admire those who can do it.

Trips with Trond Olav Glimsdal